When I was 22 I did not sleep on the ground,ever. As a matter of fact, when I was 34, 35, or 36, I did not sleep on the ground either. But now, at the ripe age of 47, I have started sleeping on the ground. This is what child centered parenting is all about…inconveniencing ourselves for the greater good of the child. The reward had better be spectacular.

                     With the purpose of developing greatness in our child, my husband and I do the following with minimal blood shed; pre-pack our truck to make sure everything fits – because there will be blood shed on the day of our departure if we have to leave 1/2 of our collection in the driveway; assemble the huge pile of the pre-packed items on the floor of the garage so as not to forget anything – things will surely be forgotten; make a shopping list and patronize 4 different supermarkets – leaving behind the maple syrup for the pancakes; buy enough ice to build an igloo – so that the cooler cannot be lifted into the back of the truck without significant sound effects; purchase a 6 man tent to attach to our 4 man tent to create a suite – kidding ourselves into thinking it is possible to be comfortable while sleeping on the ground; and lug wood secured from the local grocery store to the forest – this one defies explanation.